Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological AssociationThe Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
A Pocket Style Manual, APA Version, with 2020 APA Update by Diana Hacker; Nancy SommersBecoming a college writer means becoming a college researcher, and it can be a challenge for students to keep all of the guidelines and best practices straight for each class. Enter A Pocket Style Manual, APA Version. The eighth edition--with its emphasis on step-by-step how-to instruction that helps students apply writing, research , and citation advice in practical, transferable ways--is a powerful companion for writing in all disciplines. What's more, it covers all aspects of writing in APA style, including over 100 APA documentation models and 11 sample student papers in diverse genres, from a literature review to a laboratory report to a professional memo. With Pocket's new research help, tested and trusted grammar and style advice, and digital tools that make practice, tracking, and grading simple, you've got the most powerful pocket guide for college writing and research.
Publication Date: 2020-05-06
APA Guidelines - 7th Edition by Kaitlyn McNameeQuick reference guide to the 7th edition of the American Psychological Association's publication manual for rules of punctuation, reference citation, structure and format in 6 laminated handy pages filled with the answers you need for these commonly used guidelines. This style guide is used largely in academics, psychology, communications, business, nursing, social sciences, criminology, education, economics and more. Having a quick reference handy can speed up the writing and editing process allowing the writer to focus on the quality of the paper, ensuring a better grade if you are a student or a more professionally clean article or paper if writing for publication in your field. For the convenience and benefit of increasing the quality of your writings, the price makes it easy to add this to your writers toolbox. 6 page laminate guide includes: What is APA Style? Scientific Writing Manuscript Structure & Content Clear & Concise Writing The Mechanics of Style Visuals & Results Paper Format with Sample Paper Citing Sources in the Text with Examples Reference Type List Sample Reference List Publication Process Suggested uses: Students - Handy reference while writing papers, collect the set of guides you need for your classes to easily switch between styles Professors/Teachers - Keep handy while writing for academic journals in your subject area Professionals - Use while writing academic articles or papers for publication
Publication Date: 2020-05-01
The Concise APA Handbook by Paul Iida; Rachael Ruegg; Mark de Boer; Naoko Araki; Mary Frances Agnello"Most students struggle with learning how to find references, use them effectively, and cite them appropriately in a required format. One of the most common formats is that of APA. The authors all have vast experience teaching writing courses to various levels of students from undergraduates to graduates in other countries. However, there was lacking a book that could explain the basics of APA in simple, easy-to-understand language for non-native speakers of English, who are often unfamiliar with using references and formatting an essay in a particular method. In order to offer English Learner student writers a source of information that is appropriate for their level, and is cost-effective, this updated APA 7th edition guidebook provides students with important information in clear, concise, user-friendly language, as well as to offer practical examples that will help them grasp the concept of secondary research writing. Much of the published materials on the market targets native speakers of English. The problem with this is that they present the nitpicky details of APA in ways that do not make sense to native speakers of English, let alone to those for whom English is not their first language, because the information is presented in very technical terms that are not easy to understand. This handbook presents the same information in simplified terms with images and step-by-step instructions in ways that make sense to both native and non-native English speaking student writers. Additionally, student writers often struggle with understanding the concept of plagiarism, as well as how to find sources, evaluate the appropriateness of sources, and use sources in effective ways (e.g., how to integrate quotes, when to paraphrase, among others). This book provides this important information that is concise and easy to understand."--
Publication Date: 2021-02-01
Useful Free Websites
Style and Grammar Guidelines (APA Style Website)The style and grammar guidelines pages present information about APA Style as described in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition and the Concise Guide to APA Style, Seventh Edition. Any updates to APA Style are noted on the applicable topic pages.
APA Style BlogThe APA Style blog is the official companion to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition. It’s run by the APA Style team—a group of style experts who work with APA Style every day. We regularly publish posts to talk about what we love—writing, publishing, and APA Style. Occasionally we feature guest bloggers who write about their areas of specialty.
APA Style (Purdue Online Writing Lab)A complement to classroom instruction, a supplement to face-to-face tutorials, and a stand-alone reference for writers. This particular link is to the APA section.