Provides practical tips and examples from real life for doctoral students who may not be aware of the problems and pitfalls of writing a doctoral dissertation.
The Research Student's Guide to Success by Pat Cryer
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
A tool for postgraduate research students and for students at various levels working on research projects, irrespective of their field of study. It takes into account: QAA Code of Practice for Postgraduate Research Programmes; recommendations of Roberts Review; needs of growing number of 'overseas' research students; and more.
A Gentle Guide to Research Methods by Gordon Rugg
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Provides an overview of research methods, including research design, data collection methods, statistics, and academic writing. This book also includes a coverage of data collection methods - from interviews to indirect observation to card sorts.
Unwritten Rules of Phd Research by Marian Petre
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
This bestselling book on the process of PhD research provides readers with engaging discussion and comprehensive guidance on aspects that other books don't usually mention.
Guide to the Successful Thesis and Dissertation by James E. Mauch
Publication Date: 2003-05-29
Augmented with a new bibliography and streamlined appendices, the Guide to the Successful Thesis and Dissertation, Fifth Edition views the valuable addition of references to university research libraries and advanced information on websites, online searches, electronic literature, and other modern computer methods as crucial for the successful completion of any T/D. This popular text guide features new references and computer-oriented resources for every stage in the creation of honors and master's theses and dissertations and refers to current T/D statistics, federal regulations, ethical codes, and copyright issues and legalities involved in information gathering and study conduct.
Approaches to Quantitative Research by John Hogan (Editor); Paddy Dolan (Editor); Paul Donnelly (Editor)
The primary objective of this book is to introduce students to the concepts underlying qualitative research and how this kind of research can be conducted in a practical manner. Thus, it discusses various approaches to qualitative research and provides examples of these approaches being carried out in practice. In doing so, the book shows how various disciplines all use qualitative research in order to discover answers to their own particular research questions. The various chapters present examples for dissertation students in terms of how they might go about conducting qualitative research. Additionally, the chaptersOCO findings show how students might consider presenting their own findings. To this end, each of the chapters has been structured like a mini-dissertation with introductions, brief literature reviews, methodology sections, and finally analysis. "