It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"AATA Online is a comprehensive database of over 150,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage. "
"ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies."
A website with lists of museums organized by region and type of collections.
"The Alliance offers a pathway of standards-based assessment and recognition programs to help your museum be the best it can be in carrying out its public trust, collections stewardship, and educational roles."
Proper collections care, planning, and conservation is an essential responsibility for a museum of any size, but funding for these obligations often falls to the bottom of funding priorities because its constituencies are the quietest. Small museums need affordable ways to provide basic care for their collections and the tools to lobby for additional funds for the long-term health of collections. Small museums often do not have staff expertise on the maintenance and preservation of these large and expensive pieces of history. This book offers practical tips for collections care, including preservation strategies for historic properties and a primer on managing potential harms to your artifacts.
Are you thinking of starting a museum? Starting Right has been helping non-professionals learn the basics of museum planning for nearly three decades. This fully-revised, third edition will help you understand what you are getting into, evaluate prospects, avoid pitfalls, and take advantage of many kinds of available help. Addressing current and perennial issues facing new museums, from digital technologies to fund raising concerns, Starting Right takes you step-by-step through the process of creating a sound plan for starting your museum.
Programs, tours and exhibits are the meat-and-potatoes of what most museums do to meet their missions to educate the public. Interpretation helps make small museums compelling so that the public understands that they are more than a repository of dusty objects. This book considers researching and designing exhibits and best practices for sharing the stories with your audiences. It explores how to orient your organization to be effective interpreters of what you collect, including how to tell engaging stories and how to address difficult issues you may have ignored in the past, like slavery, prejudice and privilege. For the non-historian, it also offers a step-by-step primer on good historical research.
Museum Exhibition by David Dean
Publication Date: 2002-09-11
Museum Exhibition is the only textbook of its kind to consider exhibition development using both theory and practice in an integrated approach. This comprehensive study covers care of exhibits, writing accompanying text, using new technology, exhibition evaluation, administration and content for a wide range of collections. It provides a complete outline for all those concerned with providing displays in museums and other cultural heritage contexts.
A Companion to Museum Studies by Sharon MacDonald (Editor)
Publication Date: 2006-04-21
A Companion to Museum Studies captures the multidisciplinaryapproach to the study of the development, roles, and significanceof museums in contemporary society. Collects first-rate original essays by leading figures from arange of disciplines and theoretical stances, includinganthropology, art history, history, literature, sociology, culturalstudies, and museum studies Examines the complexity of the museum from cultural, political,curatorial, historical and representational perspectives Covers traditional subjects, such as space, display, buildings,objects and collecting, and more contemporary challenges such asvisiting, commerce, community and experimental exhibitionforms
Museums, Society, Inequality by Richard Sandell
Publication Date: 2003-08-29
Museums, Society, Inequality explores the wide-ranging social roles and responsibilities of the museum. It brings together international perspectives to stimulate critical debate, inform the work of practitioners and policy makers, and to advance recognition of the purpose, responsibilities and value to society of museums. Museums, Society, Inequality examines the issues and: offers different understandings of the social agency of the museum presents ways in which museums have sought to engage with social concerns, and instigate social change imagines how museums might become more useful to society in future. This book is essential for all museum academics, practitioners and students.
Museums are usually seen as arenas for the authorised presentations of reality, based on serious, professional knowledge. Yet, in spite of the impossibility of giving anything but a highly abstract and extremely selective impression in an exhibition, very few museums problematize this or discuss their priorities with their public. They don't ask ""what are the other truths of the matter?""
The first book to take a visitor's eye view of the museum visit when it was first published in 1992, The Museum Experience revolutionized the way museum professionals understand their constituents. Falk and Dierking have updated this essential reference, incorporating advances in research, theory, and practice in the museum field over the last twenty years. Written in clear, non-technical style, The Museum Experience Revisited paints a thorough picture of why people go to museums, what they do there, how they learn, and what museum practitioners can do to enhance these experiences.
Search for resources on fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more.
Database includes full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995. Indexing and abstracting of over 1300 dissertations, 200,000 art reproductions, and 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, is also provided. The database was formerly provided by H.W. Wilson.
Find information on art, artists, history, and corresponding pictorial illustrations from the 11th to mid-19th century. A glossary containing articles on art terms, relevant historical events, personages, cities, museums and churches is also provided.
In addition to the touring virtual museum function, this website also serves as a database for browsing collection alphabetically, by topical list, or just by conducting a quick search.
Search for primary sources (1) on radical groups in America from 1956-1971 and (2) from publications of the Writers' Project (which was a New Deal program).
Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s - "Organized alphabetically by organization, this collection covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, cultural, and economic issues. It sheds light on internal organization, personnel, and activities of some of the most prominent American radical groups and their movements to change American government and society."Archives of the Federal Writersâ€™ Project - "The Federal Writersâ€™ Project (FWP) was the most controversial and contentious program of the Work Projects Administration (WPA), an integral part of Franklin D. Rooseveltâ€™s "New Deal." This bold, imaginative and wide-ranging enterprise is the key to understanding literature, culture and society in America during the Depression era."
Search for articles and publications across nearly every area of academic study.
Academic Search Premier contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 8,500 journals, over 4,600 in full text. Backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Search some of the core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This database also includes a selection of titles in the more science-oriented fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
Search for primary source materials on the history of European exploration, portrayals of native American peoples, slave trade, commerce, pirates, and much more . This is an indexing database only.
This is an electronic version of the bibliography titled European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750 The database contains more than 32,000 records.