Library: ED262: Children's Literature: Guide

Browsing the Print Collection

The third floor:

026 Libraries for specific subjects

028 Reading & use of other information media

370-379 All things Education (372 specifically is Elementary education)

808.068 Children's Literature

_07 will include books about teaching whatever subject they fall under

The second floor:

On the back wall by the study rooms, we are building our children's literature and School of Education collection. Anything that is in the pink area!

Course Description

This course emphasizes the reading, evaluation, and presentation of literature appropriate for elementary children. The class will explore various literary genres through the readings of authentic children's books, poetry collections, picture books, and novels. Specific topics of study include: the history of children's literature, diversity of characters, settings, plots, themes, cultures, and prominent authors and illustrators. A variety of literary presentations and teaching methods will be explore.

Course Assignments:

Character Connection (40 points)
History of Children's Literature (30 points)
Read Aloud Reflection (40 points)
Literature Circles (40 points)
Design a Picture Book (60 points)
Top 25 Book List (40 points)
Discussion Forum (20 points)

Look below for links related to some of the books for this class!

Books

Databases

Bloom’s Literature This link opens in a new window
Bloom’s Literature includes critical essays, author biographies, interviews, and profiles, as well as character analyses. More than 1,000 poetry and classic works of literature are available in full-text. There are essays on how to write papers, full-length videos of classic stage performances, and film adaptations of literary works. There is also an extensive database on Shakespeare and his works.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a thorough index of education journals and access to full text of other education materials from 1966 to the present. The EBSCO interface includes tools to Find the Full Text of articles and to more easily request articles through ILL.
Containing over 1.3 million records with hundreds of additions a few times a week, ERIC is freely available through the U.S. Department of Education.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts in the areas of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, historical aspects of printing & publishing, rhetoric, composition, and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature.
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
NoveList Plus This link opens in a new window
This database provides advice on fiction books to read based on your interests and books you have previously enjoyed. The database also includes book discussion guides, reading lists, award lists, and more.
Includes information for more than 150,000 works of fiction.

ED262: Children's Literature: Guide

Welcome!

Browsing the Print Collection

Course Description

Books

Databases