Library: Literature Reviews: Where Do I Go?

Other Resources

Library Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for articles and publications across nearly every area of academic study.
Academic Search Premier contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 8,500 journals, over 4,600 in full text. Backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Academic Search Premier is a good place to go when you're just getting started. They are a database that tries to be a jack-of-all-trades and have a little bit of everything. This does mean that some topics will be more prevalent than others, but starting here can be a good indicator of whether you need to go to a subject database or not.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find full text dissertations and thesis on topics in the humanities and social sciences.
Covering dissertations and theses dating back to 1637, the database provides citations for 2.7 million papers and 1.2 million full text copies (mostly 1997 to the present). More than 70,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.

Dissertations and theses are fantastic sources to cite in your papers and also smart places to go to look at other literature reviews. ProQuest provides access to tens of thousands of published dissertations and theses to give you a solid idea of what has been written about or related to your topic.

Sometimes your topic is specific or niche enough that a general database just won't cut it. Luckily, the library provides access to tens of subject databases where you can go to search for more specific topics like business, psychology, and more. Go to the main page of the library website and click one of the subjects to see what's available to you!