Library: PE 303: Guide

Databases

Alternative Health Watch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for resources related to the complimentary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care. Some topics covered in the database include acupuncture, aromatherapy, Chinese medicine, creative therapies, cross-cultural therapies, energy medicine, herbalism, homeopathy, osteopathy, and many more. Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
Including over 180 full-text international journals and reports, the database also provides access to hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
Health Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Health Reference Center includes in-depth coverage of body systems, current health issues, major diseases and conditions, treatments, and procedures, as well as health and nutrition information specific to men, women, children, teens, and seniors.
In addition to authoritative text sources, there are 5,000 informational video clips and more than 2,500 searchable illustrations.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for articles about psychology and psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others.
Developed by the American Psychological Association's (APA), the database searches indexing of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It contains over 3.7 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1500s. Ninety-nine percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 2,550 periodicals in nearly 30 languages. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. Full text for 70 journals is provided.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that users can stay informed in their fields and can work more effectively and efficiently. Includes fields like physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, social sciences and humanities, and health sciences.
Sport Discus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for resources on topics such as biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health & therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports & exercise psychology,coaching & education, and sports medicine.
Provides full text for more than 530 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus.

Research Steps

Basic Search

Use broad search terms on Google or a database to get an idea of what is out there. At this point you're not trying to secure any sources, you're just trying to learn. So, it's okay to get information to less formal sources as long as you can back up the information you find later with scholarly ones.

Advanced Search

Now we're only using databases. We have figured out what keywords we want to use in the databases to find what we need. You can engage the Boolean operators to help refine your results.

Filtering Results

Often even with specific key words, you can still get thousands of results. And who wants to scroll through thousands of results? You can use the filtering options (usually on the left side of the web page) to get those numbers down. Some options are filtering by publication year, full-text availability, and by author.

Choosing Articles

Now start choosing which articles you think will best support your argument. Remember: you cannot save EBSCO articles by their link; you have to either download the PDF or make a free EBSCO account and the save the article to a folder. Make sure that the articles you're choosing are ones you have the time to read (or at the very least skim).

Do it all again!

The most important part of doing research is knowing that you'll have to do multiple steps multiple times. Maybe the first database you've tried doesn't have what you want, so you need to go to a new one. Maybe you tried a filtering option that ended up giving you too few results. Or you've found some articles that you thought would be useful but turns out they're not, or maybe they're too difficult to read. Never be afraid to toss out an article that's not working for you and find a new one.

Journals

Physical Education & Sport Pedagogy
The official research journal of the Association for Physical Education (AfPE). The journal provides a forum for high quality educational research intended to have a high impact on both policy and practice for a national and international readership. Physical Education and Sport Pedagogy publishes research that reports educational practices in all appropriate contexts including, but not limited to, school physical education, club sport, and active leisure programs. The journal considers papers that discuss a broad range of physical activities, including aquatics, dance, exercise, gymnastics, outdoor and adventure activities, meditative and martial arts and sport.
Physical Education and Sports Studies & Research
An international peer reviewed medium for the publication of articles of interest to researchers in education and has rapidly become a major focal point for the publication of sports research from throughout the world. The Journal is interdisciplinary in approach, and includes reports of case studies, experiments and surveys, discussions of conceptual and methodological issues and of underlying assumptions in educational research, accounts of research in progress, and book reviews.
Physical Education Digest
Provides the world's latest sports, coaching, fitness & physical education information -- condensed into brief, easy-to-understand articles. Practical ideas, tips, coaching cues & research covering over 30 different sports & PE topics.
Physical Education of Students
Publishes articles on different aspects of physical education, sports and health of adult young people - Postsecondary Students (undergraduate, graduate and postgraduate degrees).
Physical Education Theory and Methodology
A scientific-methodological, professional journal in physical education and sports. Journal includes: fundamentals of sports training, physical training education, physical education of various population groups, physical training at school.

PE 303: Guide

Introduction

Databases

Research Steps

Journals