Library: HI 437: Alexander's Legacy: Getting Started

Who to ask for help?

Subjects: Baker Core, Library Science

Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World

Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World (Brill's New Pauly) by Hubert Cancik; Helmuth Schneider; Manfred Landfester (Editor); Christine F. Salazar
Call Number: REF 938 B76
The antiquity series of BRILL'S NEW PAULY is devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and covers more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Special emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture on the one hand, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam on the other hand. Some hints to using this resource are provided below:

HINT 1: The Index volume provides alternative ways to search the encyclopedia, including:

Subject Index (p. 1-87) - find the appropriate thematic group (below), choose a subsidiary group from the table of contents for the thematic group, and search for your topic of interest.
1. Political history
2. Social and economic history
3. Cultural history and everyday culture
4. Law
5. Military
6. Archeology
7. History of art, material culture
8. Pre- and protohistory
9. Linguistics
10. Oriental literatures
11. Greek and Latin literatures
12. Rhetoric
13. History of texts
14. Philosophy
15. Music
16. Mythology
17. Religion
18. Christianity
19. Judaism (see 28)
20. Islam (see 29)
21. Historical geography
22. Sciences
23. Medicine
24. Chronography and calendar
25. Metrology and numismatics
26. Near East and Egypt
27. Byzantine culture, Hellenized Near East
28. Judaism
29. Islam
Index of Persons (p. 89-174) - find the appropriate grouping (below), sub-grouping at the beginning of the grouping, and select the person of interest.
1. Greek and Latin language and literature
2. Rhetoric
3. Historiography
4. Philosophy
5. Music
6. Greek and Roman religion and mythology
7. Christianity
8. Judaism
9. Law
10. Architecture and art history
11. Science and technology
12. Medicine
13. Geography
14. Byzantium
15. Ancient Near East
Geographic Concordance (p. 175-233) - table comparing modern with ancient locations
Index of Maps (p. 235-277) - index to all of the maps in the fifteen volumes.
List of Illustrations (p. 278-286) - index to all illustrations in the fifteen volumes.
List of Authors (p. 287-296) - table of article author initials (used in entries) and their full names
Lists and Tables (p. 299-592)
- A. Laws and Law Codes
- B. International Treaties
- C. Weights and Measures, coinage systems
- D. Papyri, ostraka, and manuscripts
- E. Data on chronology and computation of time

HINT 2: Whenever you see an abbreviation you are unfamiliar with, refer to the List of Abbreviations at the start of each volume.

HINT 3: --> indicates an entry on this topic is available elsewhere in this encyclopedia.

Other Reference Resources

The Cambridge Ancient History Volume 6: The Fourth Century BC, Second edition by D. M. Lewis (Editor); John Boardman (Editor); Simon Hornblower (Editor); M. Ostwald (Editor)
Call Number: 930 C14
Volume VI of the new edition of The Cambridge Ancient History begins with Sparta attempting to consolidate its leadership of mainland Greece and ends with the death of Alexander the Great after he had conquered the Persian Empire and marched far into India. It is correspondingly wide-ranging in its treatment of the politics and economy, not only of old Greece, but of the Near East and the western Mediterranean.
The Cambridge Ancient History Volume 7, Part 1: The Hellenistic World, Second edition by F. W. Walbank (Editor); A. E. Astin (Editor); M. W. Frederiksen (Editor); R. M. Ogilvie (Editor)
Call Number: 930 C14
Volume VII part I opens after the death of Alexander, in 323 BC, as being a more logical starting-point for Hellenistic history; and ends in 217 since, as Polybius noted, it is from then onwards that Rome begins to play a substantial role in Greek affairs. Separate chapters deal with the main kingdoms - Ptolemaic Egypt, Seleucid Asia and Macedonia - and with mainland Greece, Sicily and the smaller states including Pergamum. Political events are fully described and assessed, but there is less emphasis on military detail than in the first edition. The space thus saved has been given over to chapters on the historical sources, on the institution of monarchy and the ideology surrounding it, on the main cultural, social and economic aspects of the Hellenistic world and on the development of Hellenistic science, especially in relation to its application in peace and war.
Who's Who in the Age of Alexander the Great by Waldemar Heckel (Editor)
Call Number: 938.070922 H35W
This book contains concise biographies of over 800 individuals known from the literary and epigraphic sources for the age of Alexander. Covers significant figures, ranging from leading commanders in Alexander′s army to the nobles and regional leaders of the Persian empire whom he encountered on his epic campaign The only complete collection of its kind in English Gives complete and balanced biographies, extending beyond the death of Alexander in 323 BC where relevant Contains a full index and a concordance giving the variant names found in the ancient sources
The Oxford Handbook of Ancient Iran by D. T. Potts (Editor)
Call Number: REF 935.7 P85O
The volume is divided into sections covering prehistory, the Chalcolithic, the Bronze Age, the Iron Age, the Achaemenid period, the Seleucid and Arsacid periods, and the Sasanian period, concluding with the Arab conquest of Iran. In addition, more specialized chapters are included that treat numismatics (Elymaean, Arsacid, Persid and Sasanian), religion (the Avesta and Zoroastrianism), languages (proto-Elamite, Elamite, Akkadian, Old Persian, Greek, Aramaic, Parthian and Middle Persian), political ideology, calendrics, textiles, administrative seals and sealing, Sasanian silver and reliefs, and political relations with Rome and Byzantium.
Historical Dictionary of Ancient Egyptian Warfare by Robert G. Morkot
Call Number: REF 932.03 M82h
The Historical Dictionary of Ancient Egyptian Warfare provides concise definitions and descriptions, and brief accounts of military actions. Through the cross-referencing of each entry, and in conjunction with the bibliography, the user can pursue the wider issues and find more detailed studies.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt by Donald B. Redford
Call Number: R 932 R24o
Provides interdisciplinary coverage of Egyptology, combining history, archaeology, economics, science, and literary and religious studies.
Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World by Richard J. A. Talbert (Editor)
Call Number: REF OVERSIZE 912.38 B27
Publication Date: 2000-10-08
In 102 full-color maps spread over 175 pages, the Barrington Atlas re-creates the entire world of the Greeks and Romans from the British Isles to the Indian subcontinent and deep into North Africa. Over 70 experts, aided by an equal number of consultants, have worked from satellite-generated aeronautical charts to return the modern landscape to its ancient appearance, and to mark ancient names and features in accordance with the most up-to-date historical scholarship and archaeological discoveries. Chronologically, the Barrington Atlas spans archaic Greece to the Late Roman Empire, and no more than two standard scales (1:500,000 and 1:1,000,000) are used to represent most regions.

Livius
A free online encyclopedia of the ancient world, Livius provides articles and sources about a wide variety of topics. In addition to the general search box, you can take advantage of the categories and tags links on the homepage for browsing the content.