Frick, T. W. (2020). Education Systems and Technology in 1990, 2020, and Beyond. TechTrends: Linking Research & Practice to Improve Learning, 64(5), 693–703. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11528-020-00527-y
Jonassen DH. Instructional design models for well-structured and ill-structured problem-solving learning outcomes. Educational Technology Research & Development. 1997;45(1):65-94. doi:10.1007/BF02299613
Moore, R. (2016). Developing Distance Education Content Using the TAPPA Process. TechTrends: Linking Research & Practice to Improve Learning, 60(5), 425–432. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11528-016-0094-8
Stefaniak, J., & Xu, M. (2020). An Examination of the Systemic Reach of Instructional Design Models: a Systematic Review. TechTrends: Linking Research & Practice to Improve Learning, 64(5), 710–719. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11528-020-00539-8
West, R., Thomas, R., Bodily, R., Wright, C., & Borup, J. (2017). An analysis of instructional design and technology departments. Educational Technology Research & Development, 65(4), 869–888. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11423-016-9490-1
Click the playlist contents icon (three lines and play arrow) to see all of the videos
IDT 5025
Required
Multimedia Foundations by
Understand the core concepts and skills of multimedia production and digital storytelling using text, graphics, photographs, sound, motion, and video. Then, put it all together using the skills that you have developed for effective project planning, collaboration, design, and production. Presented in full color with hundreds of vibrant illustrations, Multimedia Foundations, Second Edition trains you in the principles and skill sets common to all forms of digital media production, enabling you to create successful, engaging content, no matter what tools you are using. The second edition has been fully updated and features a new chapter on video production and new sections on user-centered design, digital cinema standards (2K, 4K, and 8K video), and DSLR and video camcorder recording formats and device settings. The companion website, which features a wealth of web resources, glossary terms, and video tutorials, has also been updated with new content for both students and instructors.
Digital Media for Learning by
This book provides a comprehensive overview on the theories, processes, and solutions relevant to effectively creating, using, and managing digital media in a variety of instructional settings. In the first section of the book, the authors provide an overview of the theories, development models, and principles of learning with digital media. In the second section, the authors detail various digital media solutions, including: Instructional Videos, Instructional Simulations and Games, Online Learning, Mobile Learning, and Emerging Learning Technologies. Overall, this book emphasizes the theoretical principles for learning with digital media and processes to design digital media solutions in various instructional settings. The readers are also provided with multiple case studies from real world projects in various instructional settings.
Recommended
Multimedia Learning by
Advances in computer graphic technologies have inspired new efforts to understand the potential of multimedia instruction as a means of promoting human learning. In Multimedia Learning, Third Edition, Richard E. Mayer takes an evidence-based approach to improving education using well-designed multimedia instruction. He reviews 15 principles of multimedia instructional design that are based on more than 200 experimental research studies and grounded in a cognitive theory of how people learn from words and graphics. The result is the latest instalment of what Mayer calls the Cognitive Theory of Multimedia Learning, a theory introduced in previous editions of Multimedia Learning and in The Cambridge Handbook of Multimedia Learning, Second Edition. This edition provides an up-to-date and systematic summary of research studies on multimedia learning, supplemented with complementary evidence from around the globe. It is well-suited to graduate and undergraduate courses in psychology, education, computer science, communication, instructional design, and game design.
The Non-Designer's Design Book by
For nearly 20 years, designers and non-designers alike have been introduced to the fundamental principles of great design by author Robin Williams. Through her straightforward and light-hearted style, Robin has taught hundreds of thousands of people how to make their designs look professional using four surprisingly simple principles. Now in its fourth edition, The Non-Designer's Design Book offers even more practical design advice, including a new chapter on the fundamentals of typography, more quizzes and exercises to train your Designer Eye, updated projects for you to try, and new visual and typographic examples to inspire your creativity. Whether you're a Mac user or a Windows user, a type novice, or an aspiring graphic designer, you will find the instruction and inspiration to approach any design project with confidence. THIS ESSENTIAL GUIDE TO DESIGN WILL TEACH YOU The four principles of design that underlie every design project How to design with color How to design with type How to combine typefaces for maximum effect How to see and think like a professional designer Specific tips on designing newsletters, brochures, flyers, and other projects
IDT 5070
The Essentials of Instructional Design by
The Essentials of Instructional Design, 4th Editionintroduces the fundamental elements, principles, and practice of instructional design (ID) to students new to ID. Key procedures within the ID process--learner analysis, task analysis, needs analysis, developing goals and objectives, organizing instruction, developing instructional activities, assessing learner achievement, and evaluating the success of the instructional design--are covered comprehensively and enriched with descriptions and examples of how these procedures are accomplished using the best-known models. Unlike most other ID books, The Essentials of Instructional Design provides an overview of the principles and practice of ID without placing emphasis on any one ID model. Offering the voices of instructional designers from a number of professional settings and providing real-life examples from across sectors, students learn how professional organizations put the various ID processes into practice. This revised edition features new activities, quizzes, and content on professional development. Offering a variety of possible approaches for each step in the ID process and clearly explaining the strengths and challenges associated with each, this book prepares students with the information they need to make informed decisions as they design and develop instruction.
Rapid Instructional Design by
The classic guide to instructional design, fully updated for the new ways we learn Rapid Instructional Design is the industry standard guide to creating effective instructional materials, providing no-nonsense practicality rather than theory-driven text. Beginning with a look at what "instructional design" really means, readers are guided step-by-step through the ADDIE model to explore techniques for analysis, design, development, intervention, and evaluation. This new third edition has been updated to cover new applications, technologies, and concepts, and includes many new templates, real-life examples, and additional instructor materials. Instruction delivery has expanded rapidly in the nine years since the second edition's publication, and this update covers all the major advances in the field. The major instructional models are expanded to apply to e-learning, MOOCs, mobile learning, and social network-based learning. Informal learning and communities of practice are examined, as well. Instructional design is the systematic process by which instructional materials are designed, developed, and delivered. Designers must determine the learner's current state and needs, define the end goals of the instruction, and create an intervention to assist in the transition. This book is a complete guide to the process, helping readers design efficient, effective materials. Learn the ins and outs of the ADDIE model Discover shortcuts for rapid design Design for e-learning, Millennials, and MOOCs Investigate methods for emerging avenues of instruction This book does exactly what a well-designed course should do, providing relevant guidance for anyone who wants to know how to apply good instructional design. Eminently practical and fully up-to-date, Rapid Instructional Design is the one-stop guide to more effective instruction.
IDT 5080
The texts above, plus
The Accidental Instructional Designer by
Don't create boring e-learning! Cammy Bean presents a fresh, modern take on instructional design for e-learning. Filled with her personal insights and tips, The Accidental Instructional Designer covers nearly every aspect of the e-learning design process, including understanding instructional design, creating scenarios, building interactivity, designing visuals, and working with SMEs. You'll learn all about the CBT Lady and how to avoid her instructional design mistakes. Along the way, you'll hear from a few other accidental instructional designers, get ideas for your own projects, and find resources and references to take your own practice to the next level. The Accidental Instructional Designer is perfect for the learning professional or instructional designer who is just getting started with e-learning-or the more experienced practitioner looking for new ideas. In addition to sharing proven techniques and strategies, this book: -covers best practices and what to avoid when designing an e-learning program -presents e-learning in action through various case studies -shows how you can go from being an accidental instructional designer to an intentional one
Quotes are taken from the About page of each respective website.
