Library: Industry Information: Databases (Industry info)

Find Industry information in:

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window IBISWorld helps identify business operating risks and opportunities across 700 industries at the 5-digit level of the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). Each industry report provides the most detailed performance data and analysis on the market; supply chain information; forecasts; risk scores; operating strengths and weaknesses; analysis of external drivers; major player market strategies; and industry profit and costs benchmarks.
- This link opens in a new window

1. From the top bar, select: Industry Research
2. Slide down and select: US Industry Reports (NAICS)

3. Scroll down until you find your specific industry codes.
For example, 72 - Accommodation and Food Services
(If you don't know the NAICS number of your industry, use the SEARCH IBISWorld search box in the top right of the screen)

4. Use the column on the left to filter all the industry information you need.

Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window A unique database that brings together a wide variety of resources that cover companies and industries.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This innovative resource includes company profiles (with corporate parent/sibling relationships), industry rankings, products and brands, investment reports, industry statistics, financial ratios, case studies, and corporate chronologies and history. Coverage is from 1980-present.

Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window A unique database that brings together a wide variety of resources that cover companies and industries.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This innovative resource includes company profiles (with corporate parent/sibling relationships), industry rankings, products and brands, investment reports, industry statistics, financial ratios, case studies, and corporate chronologies and history. Coverage is from 1980-present.

1. From the Gale: Business Insights home page, scroll down along the left side of the screen to Explore Industries.
2. Select: Browse all industries.

3. Scroll down the two-digit NAICS codes and select the one for your industry.
For example, If you need a report on the Airlines industry, select the arrow in front of 48: Transportation
4. Continue drilling down until you find: 48111: Scheduled Air Transportation. Select it.

5. The results screen will show all the industry reports.

Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window This is an enhanced interface for Business Source Premier which allows users direct access to screens for browsing Company or Industry Profiles and Country or Market Research Reports.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In addition, the following source types are included: academic journals, SWOT analyses, trade publications, industry profiles, company profiles, market research reports and product reviews.

1. From the Business Searching Interface home page, select: Industry Profiles.
2. You can either use the industry tab to find your industry, or you can type your industry into the search box.

3. Once you locate your industry, select it.

4. Once the list of report dates appear, select the most current report you see.

5. Select the .PDF version.

6. Look through the Table of Contents to find Porter's 5 Forces Analysis

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Most scholarly and comprehensive way to explore and understand business research topics. Searches three ABI-INFORM databases: Dateline, Global, and Trade and Industry. Covers business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Search nearly 8,000 publications worldwide, almost 80% available in full text. The database contains complete runs of key business and management journals, providing a unique historical perspective from 1923-present. Full text coverage of the Wall Street Journal is also included from 1984-present.

First Research is embedded within ABI/Inform Collection and its reports analyze industries quarterly. Follow these steps to access First Research.

1. From the Advanced Search screen, slide to the top left and select the 3-bar menu.

2. Select: BROWSE

2. Under Industry and Market Research, select: First Research

3. Find your industry from the alphabetical list of industries provided.

4. After selecting your industry, the results will appear. It's best to Sort your results by "Most Recent First"

Small Business Reference Library This link opens in a new window Search for resources related to small business and entrepreneurial projects. The product provides business videos with critical information for business owners: interviews, "lessons learned" features, lectures and "how to" videos help foster success in all aspects of managing a business.The database also includes a collection of state-specific resources that support the researcher with demographic data and other local information.
- This link opens in a new window
The database includes nearly 400 periodicals, over 450 reference books, hundreds of business videos, and state specific data & resources.

Especially focused on small business.

Trends Analysis

When doing research on an industry, think about using these terms:

Global market advantage
Technology trends
Regulatory trends
Strategies, concepts and product development
segment discussions

Contacts that will come in handy:

industry associations
professional societies
government agencies